“The Devil is in the Details” with this Demonic Read from PD Alleva

Detective. Angel. Victim. Devil.

A haunting tale of suspense, loss, isolation, contempt, and fear.

On November 1, 1951, war hero John Ashton was promoted to detective. His first assignment: find the district attorney’s missing daughter. But his only lead is Alena Francon, a high society sculptor and socialite committed to Bellevue’s psychiatric facility. 

Alena has a story for the new detective. A story so outlandish John Ashton refuses to heed the warning. Alena admits to incarnating Golem, a demonic force, into her statue. A devil so profound he’s infiltrated every part of New York’s infrastructure. Even worse, he uses children to serve as bodily hosts for his demonic army, unleashing a horde of devils into our world. 

When Alena’s confidant, Annette Flemming, confirms the existence of Golem, John is sent on a collision course where fate and destiny spiral into peril, and the future of the human race hangs in the balance. 

The Devil Is In The Details!

Fans of The Silence of the Lambs, Clive Barker, John Connolly, old Stephen King, and Anne Rice will be fascinated by this edge of your seat psychological horror thriller with a story that rips out the heart of humanity and throws it on a slab to be feasted on. 

Synopsis from https://pdalleva.com/product/golem

Rating

5/5

Spooky Rating

4/5

Quick Take

Golem: The Devil is in the Details by PD Alleva is at once a terrifying horror story, paired with mystery and psychological terror. Alleva’s writing is fluid and haunting, and his settle horror elements sent chills up my spine. This is one of the most unique horror novels I have read in quite some time, and I highly recommend it!

Tell Me More

Golem: The Devil is in the Details by PD Alleva is a horror/thriller novel that follows John Ashton, a war hero who was promoted to detective, and ends up becoming intertwined with a sculptor named Alena Francon. Alena claims that she has incarnated Golem, a demonic force into one of her statues, and the demonic force has begun to infiltrate every part of New York. The demon takes over children and uses their bodies as hosts for his army, and subsequently unleashes various devils into our world.

I have read many horror novels, and I can honestly say that PD Alleva is one of the most talented horror authors I have read. He writes in simple language that creates an air of terror and allows the reader to fill in the imagery with their imagination. Upon reading the first chapter of Golem: The Devil is in the Details, I could feel bleak terror filling my chest, and yet I couldn’t put the book down. There is nothing scarier than demonic children, and while the first chapter was set on Halloween, I felt a classic excitement that Halloween always seems to bring me. Alleva’s novel is a slow burn that fills the reader with a creeping dread that intensifies as each chapter passes, and it reminded me of classic horror/thriller novels such as Silence of the Lambs.

Golem: The Devil is in the Details is a haunting horror epic that fills the reader with dread because of how realistic the story is. It is easy, yet scary, to imagine a demon infiltrating our world and taking control of children to create its army of devils. Alleva forces the reader to examine humanity and how fragile it is, while analyzing how easily it can become corrupted. John Ashton is a strong main character who the reader can’t help but relate to and root for as humanity hangs in the balance. Alleva filled his novel with horror elements that John finds himself facing, but he gave us a main character who we could count on and find hope in. Unfortunately, demons are not to be messed with, and fighting a demonic force that multiplies itself by infiltrating the bodies of children proves to be near impossible.

Alleva has created a multi-faceted horror with thriller and psychological elements that infiltrate the reader’s psyche. Golem: The Devil is in the Details reads like watching a classic horror movie that one cannot bring themselves to look away from. I found myself haunted after reading the first chapter, and my nerves continued to stir with each page that I read. This is a one-of-a-kind horror novel that needs to be experienced fully, and preferably without knowing too much about the story before going into it. While it is an excellent novel to read during spooky season it can be enjoyed at any time, and I consider it a horror must read. Pick it up and prepare to be haunted – this novel will stick with you long after you finish it.

Make a one-time donation

Choose an amount

$5.00
$15.00
$100.00

Or enter a custom amount

$

Thank you so much for your support! It means the world to me.

Donate

One thought on ““The Devil is in the Details” with this Demonic Read from PD Alleva

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s